Epic Comparison Reel

epicReel

Well, it’s been a year since I wrapped on Epic, so maybe it’s time for a new comparison reel, huh? This comparison reel is a bit different than those I’ve done before. To help students understand the blocking process further, I’ve added a “storytelling poses” section that shows each shot in the earliest phase of exploring acting decisions. This should clear up a lot of confusion about my blocking process. I’ve been asked countless times about how many poses I put into my blocking, and I always need to explain that I start much more broad with a lot fewer poses. Storytelling poses are key to clean and clear animation so I wanted to show that step on the Epic comparison reel. It was a pain in the ass to keep all these images in mind while working on the show, so I hope this reel is useful.
Epic was far and away my most enjoyable film experience to date, and I am extremely proud of the work I was fortunate to be cast on… from the smallest shot to the largest shot. In addition to my animation responsibilities, I was character lead on the main character Mary Katherine alongside Joe Antonuccio and Ray Ross.

As always, the comparison reel is meant for educational purposes only.

About Jeff Gabor

Character Animator at Blue Sky Studios!!! Reach me at jagw1r@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Reels and Video Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Epic Comparison Reel

  1. Awesome work man, I love watching this. I hope and I can be like this someday!!

  2. Leena Cruz says:

    Thanks for sharing!
    It’s really awesome, and I love how you portray the protagonist, very girly hehe :)

  3. Dave Drake says:

    Thank you so much for this! I got some great tips/ideas for blocking out my shots! I was also lucky enough to learn from Joe! Keep up the amazing work at Blue Sky!

Leave a Reply

