Ice Age 3 Comparison Reel

iceAge3ComparisonTitle

For whatever reason the “comparison reel” I did for Ice Age 3 wasn’t all that popular. I think its do to the fact that many of the shots didn’t actually rely on video reference.
But for good times sake, I thought I’d re-upload this video, and give it a second chance.
Hope a new audience finds some use out of it.
Ice Age:Dawn of the Dinosaurs Comparison Reel

About Jeff Gabor

Character Animator at Blue Sky Studios!!! Reach me at jagw1r@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Reels and Video Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ice Age 3 Comparison Reel

  1. David Nelson says:

    These are super helpful and awesome to see. I’m a 3d animation student and I really enjoy seeing your process, and how you handle reference for each shot. (as well as I’m a huge fan of yours.) Please keep posting! :D I don’t know if you check these comments, but something that was interesting to me was how detailed your blocking was. You must have a million poses! If you don’t mind me asking, when you do your blocking passes, is it always that fluid and detailed? Or do you do a pre-blocking, blocking pass that is really rough, just the key poses? Thanks!

    • Jeff Gabor says:

      Thanks David! Yeah, I definitely have a rough, story-telling poses only pass that precedes the super blocked out version of each shot. I’m really hoping to feature this part of my workflow for my Epic comparison reel so stay tuned ;)

      • David Nelson says:

        Thanks for getting back to me! That would be awesome if you could post the comparison reel! I’m really looking forward to seeing Epic. Should be a great movie. That’s really cool to hear you say that about the rough, story-telling pose pass. I’ve been making the mistake of just doing a really detailed, blocked out version of my shots, but it always bites me in the butt later. I think what I’m missing is just that really rough, story only, blocking pass. THEN doing the super detailed blocking.

  2. Heather says:

    This was fantastic! The way you broke down the process was very helpful and easy to read. If only you could make a trip out here to CSUF next time you’re on the west coast. I know those of us here at the Pencil Mileage Club would love to see more! :)

  3. Thanks a lot for all of your posts Blue Sky looks like an amazing place to work, the comparison reels are totally helpful. I’ve watched your Horton one so many times. Its nice to be able to see another professionals workflow beside my instructors that i’ve had. I started practicing your workflow since I got out of school about a year ago from Full Sail University. I’ve been told many animators have different workflows and to take bits and pieces to create your own and I’m really glad i found yours because it helps me a lot, all the way down to the over blocking. I really like your eye darts, you totally perfected those. Thanks again, for the time you spend putting those reels together. I look forward to seeing your work in Epic.

Leave a Reply

